Conrad Tao Receives 2012 Avery Fisher Career Grant

May 23, 2012

Two Avery Fisher Career Grants Awarded for 2012

On May 22nd at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts,

Nathan Leventhal, the Program’s Chairman, Charles Avery Fisher and Nancy Fisher

announced two 2012 Avery Fisher Career Grant recipients:

 Benjamin Beilman, violinist and Conrad Tao, pianist

The Avery Fisher Artist Program, established by the late Avery Fisher as part of a major gift to Lincoln Center in 1974, serves as a monument to Mr. Fishers philanthropy and love of music, with the Career Grants in particular exemplifying his devotion to helping young artists. Since the first Career Grants were given in 1976, 123 have been awarded (including this years grants), and all recipients are currently working musicians. Identified early in their careers, among former Career Grant recipients are violinists Augustin Hadelich and Hilary Hahn, pianist Kirill Gerstein and the Miró Quartet.

Festivities were held at Lincoln Centers Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse for an invited audience. This years announcement, made by the Program’s Chairman Nathan Leventhal, along with Charles Avery Fisher and Nancy Fisher (children of the late Avery and Janet Fisher), and performances by the two recipients were recorded for broadcast by Classical 105.9 FM ~ WQXR, with host Robert Sherman, to be aired on Wednesday, May 30, from 9 – 10 pm. The 2012 awards mark the 33rd time WQXR has broadcast these festivities, having been a broadcast partner since the first Career Grants were awarded in 1976. WNET Thirteen will also be featuring the 2012 recipients on its NYC-ARTS program.

For information about the Program (Avery Fisher Prize and Career Grants), please visit the Avery Fisher Artist Program website, which is accessible online through, where it listed under Programs, or alternately at Links to today’s 2012 Career Grant performances, as well as performances of select past recipients, are also available on this website.

 Avery Fisher Career Grants of the Avery Fisher Artist Program are designed to give professional assistance and recognition to talented instrumentalists, as well as chamber ensembles, who the Recommendation Board and Executive Committee of the Avery Fisher Artist Program believe to have great potential for major careers. Each recipient receives an award stipend of $25,000, to be used for specific needs in furthering a career. Recognizing the need for video in a young career, the Avery Fisher Artist Program, with the aid of Live From Lincoln Center’s Executive Producer John Goberman, provides recipients with an unrestricted DVD of the days performance to aid them in publicizing their work.

Up to five Avery Fisher Career Grants may be given each year and recipients must be U.S. citizens or permanent U.S. residents. Recipients are nominated by the Program’s Recommendation Board, which comprises nationally known instrumentalists, conductors, composers, music educators, managers and presenters. Final selections are made by the Executive Committee, whose members are: Emanuel Ax, pianist; David Finckel and Wu Han, Artistic Directors, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center; Henry Fogel, Dean, Chicago College of Performing Arts at Roosevelt University; Anthony Fogg, Artistic Administrator, Boston Symphony Orchestra; Pamela Frank, violinist; Ara Guzelimian, Provost and Dean, The Juilliard School; Nathan Leventhal, Chairman, Avery Fisher Artist Program; Reynold Levy, President, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; Yo-Yo Ma, cellist; Zarin Mehta, President and Executive Director, New York Philharmonic; Jane S. Moss, Vice President, Programming, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; Joseph W. Polisi, President, The Juilliard School; Chad Smith, Vice President, Artistic Programming, Los Angeles Philharmonic; and Matías Tarnopolsky, Director, Cal Performances, UC Berkeley. Charles Avery Fisher and Nancy Fisher are advisors to the Executive Committee. The Program periodically also awards the Avery Fisher Prize. The Avery Fisher Artist Program is grateful to Lincoln Center, Inc. and its president Reynold Levy for continued support.

M.L. FALCONE, Public Relations
155 West 68th Street, Ste. 1114
New York, NY 10023
TEL: (212) 580-4302
FAX: (212) 787-9638

Previous post:

Next post: